The End of Google+

What you need to know about the departure of Google’s social media platform.

In December 2018, Google announced the decision to shut down its social media platform, Google+. On February 1, the business sent out an email with next steps to help consumers with the process of moving photos, videos and other data off of the platform prior to the April 2019 deadline.

In September 2018, BCI Media Services made the decision to discontinue Google+ services for our clients. However, we understand that many of our clients still have Google+ accounts, and we want to make sure that you are prepared for the changes ahead. Here is what you need to know about the end of Google+.

 

What happened?

Google+ was launched in 2011 as a response to the gaining popularity of social media moguls like Facebook. Unfortunately, the platform never gained popularity and low numbers and statistics are a contributing factor as to why Google+ is choosing to shut down.

Within the last year, social media networks have also come under scrutiny for an increase in security data breaches. While most people have heard of the Facebook and Cambridge Analytica breach, another breach within Google+ occurred in March 2018 and exposed the private data of up to 500,000 users. The announcement to shut down Google+ came on October 8, 2018, the same day that the Wall Street Journal published an article on Google’s data breach.

 

How does this affect my business?

First of all, it is important to understand that the decision to shut down Google+ will have no impact on other aspects of your Google account, including but not limited to: Google My Business, Gmail, Google Drive and Google Photos.

For many businesses, the loss of Google+ should not be too big of an issue, especially if your business uses multiple social platforms in its marketing. If you have any questions or concerns regarding the loss of Google+, our team at BCI Media Services will help you find the best solution for your digital marketing needs.

 

What’s next?

Make sure that all of your personal items are exported from Google+ prior to April 2nd. This tutorial provides the simplest way to export your data.

After you have removed and saved the data from Google+ that you wish to keep, then it’s time to delete your account. Once your account is deleted, then you will have successfully removed yourself from Google+ and can say farewell forever.

With Google+ leaving, we lose one social media platform; however, BCI Media Services offers other social media options that include Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest. To discuss the best social media options for you and your business, contact your Sales Rep or email services@bcimedia.com.